Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Advice for Moms Advice for Moms

Need advice

Posted by on Aug. 16, 2013 at 11:05 PM
  • 6 Replies

This is my first time in a chat room but i figure hey what could it hurt lol

I have been with my boyfriend for a 1 and a half i have a 7 yr old daughter from a previous relationship the father shruggingisn't safe to be around my child. This is my first relationship in seven 51/2 years so i am trying to balance boyfriend time and daughter time, although he knows that she is my number one priority. He loves her i can tell that he does, he buys her birthday presents and he watches her here and there. My little issue is that she will want to cuddle with him on the couch or she will want his attention and affection and recently he said he feels smothered he isn't use to it. I can understand that but he has been around for the past year and a half and he said he would work on it. I guess I'm worried that he wont be able to love her as much as i do, she needs that affection shes soooo lovable. How can i make them bond and him not feel so smothered and is it bad that i want him to be more involved even though he isn't her father? lol

Am I horrible???

by on Aug. 16, 2013 at 11:05 PM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-6):
foxymomof4
by Member on Aug. 16, 2013 at 11:21 PM
1 mom liked this

You are not horrible but you need to understand that it will take him time to adjust to her to, specially if he has no kids of his own.My DD is 8 and she's very affectionate with everyone not just her father and I.So maybe you should try to give him some space and time after all is better for her too incase it didnt work out with you 2:)Good Luck!!

frndlyfn
by Platinum Member on Aug. 16, 2013 at 11:21 PM
1 mom liked this