Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

How do you handle tantrums in small children?

Posted by on Oct. 26, 2013 at 3:40 PM
  • 8 Replies

Ladies, I need HELP.

I have 2 year old twin boys who have meltdowns over just about ANYTHING. The problem is, they can't communicate well yet, so we never know what's going to set them off.

My first child was so easy going. Until now, I've had no experience with tantrums, and I am DROWNING here. I have always told myself that if I had a child who threw fits, I would simply ignore them. That's what everyone says to do, and it makes sense to do it. They SHOULD NOT get attention for acting that way. I consider myself a strict parent in other aspects. I've tried to ignore them, but it never seems to stop or get better. They do this the most at dinner time, and I am so super busy at that time. So I'm left wondering, ok, do I A: Put him in another room to scream (they say never leave the room they are in, just turn your back) or B: Ignore the rest of my family and their needs at dinner time to be in the room with him while he tantrums, and isn't that counterproductive?? I honestly, honestly, don't know what to do here. I want to teach them that they cannot act this way, but I can't find something that works well for the whole family and be consistent with it. (My husband is also not comfortable with the "let them cry" method. But I'm afraid if we cater to their tantrums, we'll be raising little hellians!!)