Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Advice for Moms Advice for Moms

Hello, I'm a psychologist and new to the forum, feel free to ask me anything!

Posted by   + Show Post

Hello all you wonderful moms! I work with children and adolescents, and am a mother as well. My daughter is in college now and engaged to be married in the Spring, so I'm hoping that before too many years pass I'll have some grandchildren to play with!

If you have any questions you'd like to ask, I'd be happy to give you my opinion or advise. I love children and am always happy on whatever message board or chat I'm on to work with parents as well as individuals within the scope of my specialty.

Best of luck to you all and I hope you all have a very Happy Halloween!

Beth Bowling

by on Oct. 28, 2013 at 6:35 AM
Replies (191-199):
lancet98
by Member on Jun. 25, 2014 at 9:23 AM
1 mom liked this

No, that isn't what my post was about.  You are just twisting things around.   I really do not trust people who do that.

And the folksy, motherly advice you give here, sounds far more like a Dear Abby than a psychologist.   In fact all you're doing is stating your opinion...you aren't giving people the tools to work out their own problems based on their own values, which is the job of the counselor, therapist or in some cases, psychologist.

But you haven't come here as many have, offering advice as an equal or friend.   You have attempted to put yourself above all and become a higher authority, by claiming to have such advanced training.

It says very clearly that you have to have a PhD(DOCTORATE DEGREE)  in most states IN ORDER TO BE LICENSED AND THEREBY TO PRACTICE PSYCHOLOGY.

THAT IS VERY CLEAR.

In being a volunteer advocate I have met with many psychologists over the years in different states.   ALL had a license, and ALL were PhD's, and that degree is required in most states for people to get their license.