Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Advice for Moms Advice for Moms

Truancy for 4 year old?

Posted by on Nov. 21, 2013 at 5:28 PM
  • 29 Replies
1 mom liked this

Ok my first child has started PreK.  I'm new to the whole child in school thing and I've been making a few mistakes. 

My daughter has been sick left and right since she started school. What started out I thought as a bad cold turned out to be a viral illness and I kept her out of school for several days. She was coughing, with fever and a body rash.

I called the first day and informed the school she was sick. The next day the school called me with a recording saying I needed to call them or send a note with the child to excuse the absense. OK so my  mistake was thinking that since they knew she was sick and the recording said it was ok to send a note, I could just send her in with a note as soon as she was better. And I did. But then the office said that wasn't ok I should have called every day and that because the absenses were therefore unexcused the DA would be contacted and I would receive a truancy letter. If she misses any more school, charges could be pressed.

I received a letter about the truancy from the school and it mentions the state's Compulsary Attendence Law, which dictates when the absences are to be reported to the DA. 

I read the law and first paragraph it says it applies to students over 5 and under 18. My daughter is 4 until April. ?? So is the school being unneccarily harsh on me and wrong for reporting it to the DA? Or am I missing something?

I'm perfectly fine with following school policy and have no intention on ever making this mistake again. But the whole DA threat really bothers me.

by on Nov. 21, 2013 at 5:28 PM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
thatgirl70
by Carin on Nov. 21, 2013 at 5:32 PM
1 mom liked this