Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Hateful 5 yr old or I'm just a bad mom?

Posted by on Jan. 8, 2014 at 11:20 AM
  • 8 Replies

Hi!! I am kind of new to this site and this is my first time posting so I will start with a little background.  I am a 35 yr old mom of 2 boys that I currently share joint custody of with my ex-husband. My boys are 7 and 5 and I love them more than life. In Jan, I started dating a new guy and we moved in with him in May. I know, fast, but it has proven to be great. Fast forward a few months and my 5 year old has become very hateful and mean to me.  I try to keep my voice down with them and I don't spank him and do timeouts in his room. He gets mad when he doesn't get his way, or gets in trouble for hitting his brother. He's a very emotional child I would say and can go from completely happy to mad or bawling for the slightest reason. He will tell me he doesn't love me, hates me, doesn't like me, wishes he could just go to his dads.  My older son tells me he does the same things at his dads just vice versa.  I have tried to explain that hurts my feelings but he doesn't care. Some days he is very loving and tells me he loves me all day long and cuddling. I just don't understand the mood swings. He gets a long great with my boyfriend and my boyfriend is very good to them. We have been able to do more outings and getting more extras since we have moved due to combining bills and they seem to be happy here!  I will admit I am not a perfect mom, I lose my patience and have to separate myself from him so i can calm down but I never hit or call names and never would. Any advice? Anyone else have kids that have gone from sweet and loveable to a complete opposite? 

by on Jan. 8, 2014 at 11:20 AM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-8):
frndlyfn
by Platinum Member on Jan. 8, 2014 at 11:46 AM
1 mom liked this