Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Has anyone tried the no shampoo thing?

Posted by on Jan. 30, 2014 at 12:00 AM
  • 13 Replies
How is it? Like it? How long did your natural oils go back to normal so hair wasn't greasy looking? What do you use to clean it?
by on Jan. 30, 2014 at 12:00 AM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
AM-BRAT
by Amber on Jan. 30, 2014 at 12:12 AM
No poo!

No, I haven't.

There's a gal around the site, kitchy I believe- she has a huge picture-updated post around confessions I think.
funhappymom
by Bronze Member on Jan. 30, 2014 at 8:02 AM

I have no experience with it. I don't think it's for me right now but there are moms who have done it on the natural parenting group.

Mrseoc
by Member on Jan. 30, 2014 at 8:09 AM

Personally no, but since my two year old hates having her hair washed, i pretty much do it with her. She only gets her hair rinsed with clean water nightly, i wash it about twice a month. I know it's not "no poo" but it's likely still helping her scalp not to overproduce oils.

Her hair looks great. Its always shiny, never knotty or greasy looking. It gets less manageable after i wash it. I'd give the "no poo" thing a try.. but my face breaks out when i dont wash my hair. I love being natural and all... but no poo is not for me.

goldpandora
by Member on Jan. 30, 2014 at 8:10 AM
I tried it but after 2 weeks I couldn't stand it any longer. My hair felt dreadful and my scalp itched like crazy.
RubyLu
by Member on Jan. 30, 2014 at 9:00 AM
I've tried it a few times, I'm currently on week 2 of not using shampoo. But, I do wet and condition my hair a few days a week, depending on my work schedules.