Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Advice for Moms Advice for Moms

Daycare Question?

Posted by on Mar. 26, 2014 at 1:25 PM
  • 11 Replies

OK so my son has been going to this one daycare since he was 11 months old, he is now 21 months and I moved a few months ago and this current daycare he is at is just SO out of the way and it's just not worth it. However I absolutely LOVE this daycare and he loves it too. I have found a new daycare but I'm worried about the transition. Will it be easy? Has anyone else had to switch daycares?? 

Also, I am in no way shape or form "racist" but, at the new daycare- he will be the minority, being white. Will this affect anything? Has anyone had any problems with their child being the minority, do children even care? I have no problem with it at all. And I know he can't really talk yet but I guess I'm just new to all of this, it's my first child and I just want him to be treated right. :) 

And so nervous about the transition!! 

by on Mar. 26, 2014 at 1:25 PM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
sarahfaith123
by Sarah on Mar. 26, 2014 at 1:52 PM
1 mom liked this
Babies have no idea about race relations. Race values or stereotypes come from the culture and are learned. If you model race equality he will learn all races are equal. You cant control what other children have learned about race and what he might pick up from them but hopefully it doesn't come up at a daycare. Hopefully it can be made a non issue if you treat it as such. Any move will be an adjustment but if you and DS love it, if it's out of the way but you think it's worth- may as well keep going there. In the meantime you could look at a few more if you wanted more options. Can never be too thorough with daycare, I think. GL
trulyblessed618
by Bronze Member on Mar. 26, 2014 at 2:00 PM
1 mom liked this