Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Advice for Moms Advice for Moms

Self feeding

Posted by on Jun. 8, 2014 at 4:37 PM
  • 27 Replies

I'm trying to get my daughter to drink from a bottle herself, o r at least understand the concept of holding the bottle. I've been breastfeeding for 8 months and I finally got her to take bottles of expressed milk from me. I wanted to try and give her some juice and I've tried every kind of juice and she won't take it. 

Also, now that she's about to get her first tooth I want her to get the idea of picking up food and putting it in her mouth. Any suggestions for any of this?

by on Jun. 8, 2014 at 4:37 PM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
atlmom2
by Ruby Member on Jun. 8, 2014 at 4:54 PM

Start spoon feeding her first till she gets used to having pureed solids, then you move to finger foods.  Since she is 8 months you can move faster but each food should be given alone for 3 days to see if there is any allergy. 

KristinD1988
by Member on Jun. 8, 2014 at 4:55 PM

I've been spoon feeding her solids for almost 3 months now, we started when she was 6 months old.

Quoting atlmom2:

Start spoon feeding her first till she gets used to having pureed solids, then you move to finger foods.  Since she is 8 months you can move faster but each food should be given alone for 3 days to see if there is any allergy. 

atlmom2
by Ruby Member on Jun. 8, 2014 at 5:15 PM

Then I would start feeding her things you eat.  Little cut up chicken or meat, green beans and carrots etc.  She should love the people food so much more than baby food because it actually has a taste.  Cheerios too for a snack. 

Quoting KristinD1988:

I've been spoon feeding her solids for almost 3 months now, we started when she was 6 months old.

Quoting atlmom2:

atlmom2
by Ruby Member on Jun. 8, 2014 at 5:16 PM

Spaghetti and mashed potatoes are great too.