Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Advice for Moms Advice for Moms

why do people say "its ok, he is fine."

Posted by on Jul. 25, 2014 at 1:22 AM
  • 24 Replies
I have a 7yr old boy im adopting. He has been with us for almost a year. Im new to being a mom... and very concerned about manners and behavior. When I do small polite corrections in regards to manners people say, "oh its ok he is fine." I hate that. Any advice? I was raised with manners and I intend to raise my son the same way.
by on Jul. 25, 2014 at 1:22 AM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
outtamymynd
by Member on Jul. 25, 2014 at 1:25 AM
1 mom liked this
They probably say it's fine, because they feel it's fine. Just tell them that behavior isn't fine with you and needs to be corrected.
Posted on CafeMom Mobile
a_and_j_momma
by Gold Member on Jul. 25, 2014 at 1:56 AM
4 moms liked this
They feel like they are the reason he is being scolded. Guilt
DanaG70
by Member on Jul. 25, 2014 at 1:57 AM
2 moms liked this

Just ignore them and keep teaching him manners.

LancesMom
by Gold Member on Jul. 25, 2014 at 11:21 AM

I say ignore too. But if you feel you need to reply, tell them its an issue he is having trouble with and you need to correct him when it happens.

Bmat
by Barb on Jul. 25, 2014 at 11:42 AM
4 moms liked this

They likely don't want to cause him or you embarrassment.  They shouldn't say it is fine, but being polite, it just slips out before they think. They don't want you to think they were offended.

kailu1835
by Member on Jul. 25, 2014 at 3:00 PM

He should have manners instilled in him.  Good job being a parent.

goldilocksbecky
by on Jul. 25, 2014 at 3:26 PM
4 moms liked this

It's not because he's adopted.  It happens with my son as well. And if you think about it, it happens to us as adults as well.