Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Advice for Moms Advice for Moms

snacking for comfort?

Posted by on Jul. 25, 2014 at 9:04 AM
  • 8 Replies
My daughter always asks for snacks or crackers. After she has already eaten or accidentally gets hurt or just bored. Is she already developing a need to eat for comfort?
by on Jul. 25, 2014 at 9:04 AM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-8):
a_and_j_momma
by Gold Member on Jul. 25, 2014 at 9:35 AM
If you don't think she is really hungry, just say no
natevak93
by New Member on Jul. 25, 2014 at 11:05 AM
I do but she has a tantrum after :( sometimes for an hour
MrsKeyes
by Member on Jul. 25, 2014 at 7:56 PM
1 mom liked this

Maybe try to make a system? Im no expert, by any means, but maybe make a basket or a bin with a limited amount of healthy snacks, make it pretty to entice her. Explain to her that she can have snacks, but only this many each day, say 3. and when the basket is empty, she gets no more snacks outside of meals until tomorrow. It might help, I know my friend's DD when she was 4 did the same thing, but she took it a lot better when they said no. They allowed her snacks, but didn't let it get out of hand! Good luck!

KCartair
by Member on Jul. 25, 2014 at 8:04 PM
If she just had some & ask for more a couple mins later. I would say no. She is probably just eating just because, I would talk to her doctor & see what they say
mamer12812
by Member on Jul. 25, 2014 at 11:25 PM
I'm going through the something yeah right now I'm clueless on what to do
Sebbiemama
by Member on Jul. 27, 2014 at 8:19 AM