Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Advice for Moms Advice for Moms

Help with starting potty training!

Posted by on Aug. 18, 2014 at 10:44 AM
  • 12 Replies
Now I'm not sure if my son is ready yet or not, he will be two December 31st and still doesn't understand the concept of the bathroom yet. I've tried multiple times by siting him on his potty with his diaper still on when I think he is trying to poop or something but he never actually does it and then he gets distracted and just wants to play with everything! He is my first and I'm still new at it all so what are the best ways to start encouraging potty time?? I'm not trying to teach him to pee standing up yet so I'm just asking for beginners basics haha. Plz and thank you!!
by on Aug. 18, 2014 at 10:44 AM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
aurora.dove
by Bronze Member on Aug. 18, 2014 at 10:46 AM
1 mom liked this

I would just let him watch you and DH in the bathroom. When he is ready he will start showing intrest. Don't try to push it before then or it will make things a lot harder. 

bec94
by Bronze Member on Aug. 18, 2014 at 10:55 AM
1 mom liked this
I don't know about training boys, but both my girls trained at 3. They decided ( with some encouragement) and because of that they trained within 5 days, with no nighttime, nap time, or out running errands accidents. I tried training my oldest at 2, and it was more stressful for me because she just didn't get it, and had no interest in getting it. I gave up because dd#2 was on her way and I didn't want her to regress.

Pull-ups were a waste for training. They did come in handy though over the underwear. It gave me piece of mind when we were out 'just in case' we couldn't make it to the bathroom in time.