Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Big decision to make...

Posted by on Jan. 20, 2015 at 1:54 PM
  • 26 Replies
I've been working at Sears for about 5 months. My local store so very small and I've come to know and love nearly everyone I work with. It pays minimum wage ($7.25 in my area) so it barely pays the bills but I do enjoy working there. I've become a person who can be relied and trusted on there and have recently switched positions. However, I know that the chances of a raise are highly unlikely as I know people who have been there for years and who still make minimum wage.

A coworker recently told me about a housekeeping job that pays double the money. She was officially hired there today and it's really got me thinking hard.

My dilemma is that I really want to stay at Sears, at least for now, but I also really want to apply for this job. I would be happy to do both (housekeeping in the morning, Sears in the evening) but I know that it would take up an awful lot of my time. I have 2 boys at home, ages 4 years and 9 months. Both of these jobs are over 30 hours a week and just with the one, I already feel like I'm missing out on too much. Part of me feels like I need to do this to make their future more secure, but I also feel like they'll be missing out on our family time. My fiance is the stay at home dad and my mom is currently unemployed and loves every opportunity she has to babysit so it's not like they'd be stuck in daycare for 20 hours a day, but I know they'll miss me as much as I'll miss them.

What would you do?
by on Jan. 20, 2015 at 1:54 PM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
emmy526
by Gold Member on Jan. 20, 2015 at 2:18 PM