Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Advice on autism please..my 2 yr old was just diagnosed and Im heartbroken..

Posted by on Mar. 16, 2015 at 12:57 PM
  • 27 Replies
Hi, ladies. Newbie here, as of yesterday, and I would love to talk with any of you about feelings, stress, thoughts in general, and advice to support one another in the delicate situation of toddlers with autism. As of Wed last week, we have been learning alot as a family about my son, Carter's diagnosis. Im scared for my child's future. Looking forward to meeting you. Thanks.
by on Mar. 16, 2015 at 12:57 PM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
barbie_girl870
by Bronze Member on Mar. 16, 2015 at 1:22 PM
1 mom liked this
My son is 16 he is autistic. at first I was scared to .but there is nothing to worry about. a diagnosis does not change who your son is. it will just help you understand what's going on.
NBVP1
by Member on Mar. 16, 2015 at 1:31 PM
My 10 year old was recently diagnosed. He's high functioning but has no social skills whatsoever.

You will learn to appreciate the unique ways in which your child is awesome. And there will be many, there already are. They will be easier to see if you release your expectations for what he should be. Readjust your perspective. Toss the word "normal" out of the window.

I struggle. I cry. I hurt and worry and tear my cuticles off to the quick. We have bad days...days when I have no patience and he has no focus, days when I think I'd give anything for different circumstances.

But then there are moments of joy. Moments when he surprises me. Moments when I see him unfiltered and am reminded that he is incredible human being and I lucked out hard to have him. In truth, no other kid could be as suited for me as he is.

You'll be better than OK.
MamaLauri
by Member on Mar. 16, 2015 at 1:50 PM
1 mom liked this