Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Before and After School Child Care (plus HW time / tutoring)

Posted by on Jun. 2, 2015 at 11:17 AM
  • 24 Replies
1 mom liked this

I was considering doing before/after school child care (in my home) for next school year.   

Here's the plan and a little about myself (if that makes a difference)

We live in the midwest in a small town.  

My "hours" would be from 6 am until 8am (school starts).  And then 3pm until 600pm. 

I have three open seats in my van so I can accommodate up to three kids driving to and from school. (I have three of my own - two in middle school and one preschooler)

I am a certified teacher and have a Master's degree in Education (BA in Writing) and would provide an afterschool snack and homework time and tutoring if necessary.   I taught high school and college for 10 years before working at home as a technical writer.  

I would also consider taking kids on inservice days and early outs as well.  

My own children (the ones in school) are straight A students and have no behavioral issues.  We are a non-smoking house.  We do have a dog, but he's an old lab who just lays around.  We have over an acre of yard plus we're on a cul-de-sac (the only house in the cul-de-sac) that is right next to a park area with a walking path.  Lots of room to play

So, I'm lost as to what to charge for those "services".  What do you think?

by on Jun. 2, 2015 at 11:17 AM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
mrswillie
by Platinum Member on Jun. 2, 2015 at 11:56 AM
That's really hard to answer since different areas have different cost of living stats. I know where I live is one of the lowest in the US. I suggest checking daycare advertisements in your area, check the paper and such. Also call around to daycare centers and get prices. Just act like you are considering using them lol.
motherofzandz