Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Have some things to get off my chest! Please dont take it the wrong way!

Posted by on Dec. 17, 2008 at 10:25 AM
  • 12 Replies

Do you remember when we were children and our parents used to tell us that having presents is not the meaing of x-mas? I never believed them. I thought x-mas was meant for toys. But now as a mother and all grown up I now know that presents is not the meaning of x-mas. I know times are really tough. I'm  26, single mother of a 15 month boy. I work as a waitress and i only work 26 hours a week. And I have a morgage and tons of bills and a piece of crap car. But you know even with those 26 hours a week I'm still able to provide everything i need for my child. And him having diapers and food on the table and a warm home to come to is more important to me then a x-mas gift. Theres people on here that are depressed that they couldnt get the coolest toy on the block for there kid. I do understand you feel bad but x-mas isnt about that. It's  about family! It's one of the few times out of the year everyone gets together. Be thankful for everything you have. be thankful to wake up in a counrty where no one is bombing one another. just be thankful for waking up and seeing your children healthy and well. We are all so used to being able to get ourselfs everything and tons of gifts. And then bam economy takes a hit. It should make u see what everything is really about. Sorry this is so long i just need to let out my opinion

by on Dec. 17, 2008 at 10:25 AM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
by on Dec. 17, 2008 at 10:29 AM

i'm with you on that one.  i work 3 jobs which still doesn't equal up to 40 hours a week.  we struggle everyday, but we get by.  it just upsets me when people are more worried about toys then anything else.

by on Dec. 17, 2008 at 10:31 AM