Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Adopted a child with a past...need some advice...

Posted by on Apr. 8, 2009 at 9:17 AM
  • 21 Replies

Hi- I'm new to this and I hope I can get some advice. My husband and I adopted the sweetest little girl almost 3 months ago. She is almost 6 years old and before she was taken from her parents she had a pretty rough life. I guess she was hit and yelled at a lot. She's so sweet and loving, yet she seems "broken". She seems to be afraid to get excited about things and she's nervous around adults. She's in kindergarten and her teacher says she is timid and doesnt like to raise her hand, though she is very smart and makes friends pretty well. Do any of you have advice about building up  her self esteem and helping her to learn to trust people? Therapy could be an option, but right now I'm just wondering what we could do as her new parents.

by on Apr. 8, 2009 at 9:17 AM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
mommy1008
by Member on Apr. 8, 2009 at 9:18 AM

I dont know but heres a bump so maybe someone else can! Good Luck mama!

Alyvia Paige Hernandez <3

monkymonstermom
by on Apr. 8, 2009 at 9:21 AM

just plan love her i came from a really rough house till my grandmother who i didn't really know took me in and I asked her just now what she did and she said I loved you and was understanding(not saying your not) that it would take time .Eventually I came around . I was in counseling a couple years later

CasandraFinlay
by on Apr. 8, 2009 at 9:22 AM

PM me... my family (when I was young in highschool) did the same thing.

jnick82
by on Apr. 8, 2009 at 9:22 AM