• In the Spotlight:
Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

BF question.

Posted by on Apr. 8, 2009 at 9:23 AM
  • 11 Replies
i'm bfing dd, and did not bf ds. so this is my first time with it. dd is almost 2 weeks old. so here's my question, and it's probably really dumb, but bear with me, it's sincere. Is it necessary to burp after BFing? I've had to do some supplimenting with formula do to some complications, but she's mostly BFed. I know after bottle feeding, I need to, and she always burps, but with BFing she never does, and there isn't much air intake with BFing. so is it something I should continue doing after BFing? I guess it doesn't matter much, I'm more curious if she SHOULD be burping after. She gets the hiccups all the time, especially after feeding (either way). and thought maybe this could be something to help.
by on Apr. 8, 2009 at 9:23 AM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
soccerchik8287
by on Apr. 8, 2009 at 9:54 AM

It's different with every baby, some need to burp still and some do not. With my daughter we always at least tried to get her to burp. Sometimes she did, sometimes she didn't.

tiffanysgirls
by on Apr. 8, 2009 at 9:58 AM
I just wanted to say...that is the CUTEST baby pic (your avatar). It is like she is saying "Hey! Whats up?" -lol-
acbbsmama
by on Apr. 8, 2009 at 9:59 AM

I would at least try to burp her, she may or may not burp. As for the hiccups my daughter had the same issue. Her Dr. said to try to hold her more up right when nursing (or using bottle) and try holding her up right for a while after feeding. I hope that helps ;-)

"We worry about what a child will become tomorrow, yet we forget that s/he is someone today"

AM-BRAT
by Amber on Apr. 8, 2009 at 10:00 AM