Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

your money saving ideas and tips needed!

Posted by on Jun. 21, 2009 at 4:42 PM
  • 6 Replies

we are on a tight budget right now, as are so many other people out there. i'm always looking for new ideas to save money in any way possible. any ideas out there?

by on Jun. 21, 2009 at 4:42 PM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-6):
GOBryan
by Gold Member on Jun. 21, 2009 at 5:20 PM

Buy 2 for 1 items and use coupons. 

Buy store brand rather than name brand for most items.

When I was a financial analyst, we always told our clients to make themselves the first bill they pay before they pay all other bills.  This is especially important for saving money if you don't have a 401k or pension plan.  Even if that means you only put away $5. a week.. anything is better than nothing.

Look for sale items in stores.

Reduce unnecessary bills at home such as cable, cell phones, etc.  If you don't have a bundles plan, get it.. it's cheaper.. this usually includes, phone, internet and satelite/cable.  You'll save money that way.

If you have credit card debt pending, call and negotiate the interest rate.. most will help, especially if you're a good customer.  If you owe credit card debt and have not paid in a while, you can call and negotiate in order to cut them down to a fraction of what you owe.. Atleast half.

Call your local electric company and find out what the ideal degree on your a/c should be.. In Florida, it's 78 degrees.. also have them come out to do free energy checks in your home.

Mom2LiamNMolly
by on Jun. 21, 2009 at 5:23 PM

For us, its the little things that addup to savings.