Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Any medical coders?? I need help!

Posted by on Jul. 5, 2009 at 7:37 PM
  • 5 Replies

I had a miscarriage in 2007.  I've paid all my deductibles and co pays.  There is this 1 bill from the ER doctor that I can't seem to get paid by the insurance.  I've called the insurance company and they say the diagnosis code is invalid.  The code that the doctor is using is 634.93  I looked it up myself as best I could(I have no background in this).  From what I could understand, the insurance company is right and this isn't a valid code.  I'm going to call the billing company for the doctor tomorrow and ask them for all documentation so that I can contact a lawyer.  I'm SO sick of dealing with this.  I have a theory that the billing company wants to get the full bill out of me, and if the insurance pays it, they get a negotiated rate.  Any advice?  Anyone have any ideas?  I really hate being reminded of my miscarriage every month! :(

by on Jul. 5, 2009 at 7:37 PM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-5):
MawagaMom
by on Jul. 5, 2009 at 7:42 PM

The billing office screwed up so they are responsible - not the insurance company.  You need to simply call the attorney and they can handle getting your paperwork themselves.  It is better that way. 

The billing company is who they will probably go after since they are contracted with the insurance company.  They failed in following up on the denial.  It is their loss and not yours.  They will probably have to write off the amount.

swizzlefiz
by on Jul. 5, 2009 at 7:50 PM