Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Should I pass up this opportunity? I need advice before 3pm PLease Help

Posted by on Aug. 25, 2009 at 12:50 PM
  • 12 Replies

I work as a Medical Assistant at a really large medical group. I love my coworkers and my boss is really cool. So I recently got an offer for an interview to be a teacher for a vocational school to teach ppl to be Medical Assistants. I did the interview and they like me a lot and requested I do a second interview today. This is super great, how could I turn this down right? Well see I have a wonderful little 2 year old boy. My son Jacob. And this job as an interesting schedule. I would start at 8am to 1230pm and then a 4 hour break and back at 5pm-930pm. So this is an all day job. By the time I get home my little boy would be in bed. So he would only see me for a half hour in the morning everyday and then late Friday and Saturday and Sunday. I also would get the breaks that students get like for the summer and the holidays. But lets just say this I c my son now 2.5 hours a day and 30 min in the morning and the weekends. 2.5 hours because we pick him from daycare at 6pm we get home at 630pm after picking him up. Dinner at 730pm we play till 9pm and then he is in bed at 930pm. Then the weekends we spend all day with him. Taking him out and playing.

I really would love the opportunity to be a teacher and teach something I've been doing my whole life. But its hard cause I cant imagine being without my son all day. What do you guys think. I especially want to hear from fulltime worker moms and the moms with same situation as far as working hours.

by on Aug. 25, 2009 at 12:50 PM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
mommytotaylor
by on Aug. 25, 2009 at 12:53 PM

thats a hard one, is the pay better or around the same? still a hard one though

newagemom700
by on Aug. 25, 2009 at 12:54 PM