Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Babies Babies

Support for a mom getting out of a verbally abusive Relationship

Posted by on Jun. 11, 2012 at 11:05 PM
  • 27 Replies

Hi I'm new to Cafemom and this is my first post there are two things that has been nagging at me since my baby was born I have been in a verbally and emotionally abusive relationship with my child's father and I want to get out of it and away from him for good our baby is now six months old and he is beginning to speak harshly to her and raise his voice at her as well.  Are there any support groups I could go to, to discuss what I am going through and how to get aways from him for good I'm afraid his behavior will get worst towards me and my baby.  Also while at the hospital giving birth when you ladies were alone did the nurse/doctor approach any of you and ask if you were in an abusive relationship.  I'm wondering could she tell I was in an abusive relationship or is that just protocol.  Okay thanks

by on Jun. 11, 2012 at 11:05 PM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
larissalarie
by Platinum Member on Jun. 11, 2012 at 11:22 PM
1 mom liked this
I think they asked me that with my 3rd child. She said she was required to ask some things and asked if I would prefer if my husband left the room. I don't remember that happening with the first 2, so I don't know if it's some new thing they are doing now, or if it was a state specific thing (this was in Missouri, my older two were born in Kansas & Colorado)