Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Supplementing BM with cow's milk??? Updated

Posted by   + Show Post

A little background before the question.... My son is 9 1/2 months old and I have EBF him. I only work on weekend mornings and am home around 12pm. I pump everyday to have a supply for the weekend and my boyfriend feeds him with a bottle. He will not drink formula, we have tried once or twice when my supply was a little low but that was months ago. He does eat three solid meals a day and will drink water from a sippy cup. I have only been able to pump once a day to get an adequate amount, usually if I try a second time I barely get half an ounce.

I usually can only pump enough to just get him through until I get home but I'm worried about this Sunday (Mother's Day). I am a prep cook/baker in a restaurant and Mother's Day is our busiest day of the year and I will be working longer than usual, probably until 3 or 4pm. I am wondering if we can add a litte whole cow's milk to each of his bottles to help extend the supply that I have pumped all week. Just to make this clear,I AM NOT TRYING TO WEAN HIM!!! I plan to BF until his first birthday. Should we try to add to the BM or should we just have him drink what I have pumped and give him an extra cup of water to help him get by until I get home??? I worry about giving him to much water in a day because I have read that to much water is not good for a baby. He usually has about 5ounces of water a day in a sippy cup. Any suggestions would be helpful.....

Thanks in advance!!!

UPDATE: Thank you all for the advice, it is very helpful! I have decided to not give him cow's milk now. I am just going to have his dad give him en extra solids meal/snack and give him his sippy cup of water later in the day. Then when I get home I will just nurse him extra! I would consider the goats milk or coconut milk but I have never seen it in stores around me.