Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Babies Babies

Breastfeeding HEEELPP!!!

Posted by on Jun. 14, 2013 at 6:55 AM
  • 34 Replies
My daughter is 2 weeks old. When we first came home from the hospital it seemed she had set her own kind of schedule to be nursed: she would feed for up to 30-45 mins (or as little as 10) about 4 or 5 times then nap for 3 or 4 hrs, consistently. That lasted about a week. Now she is on me constantly. I know she is using me as a pacifier sometimes. But when I try to make her stop (like lactation consultant told me to) she screams. Lactation consultant said babies go through a growth spurt during the second week. So is this going to slow down? I'm new to this and its wearing me out so much that I'm almost in tears! Please help!
by on Jun. 14, 2013 at 6:55 AM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
coffeemom37043
by Member on Jun. 14, 2013 at 7:00 AM
1 mom liked this

Yes, it will pass. I just let my DD use me as a paci. It calmed her and it helps build your supply. We are going through a 6 week growth spurt right now, so I know how you feel. Just hang in there. It'll get better!

mkhc-531
by Member on Jun. 14, 2013 at 7:12 AM
Thank you! I sure hope it gets better! Last night I was just thinking- bottle feeding would be so much easier. But I don't want to give up on giving my baby what's best for her! Plus I feel bad because when we visit with family they want to see her and hold her but she just wants me. Either to eat or to just hold her. She even fusses when her dad holds her when he comes home from work! :(
expectantmom81
by Erin on Jun. 14, 2013 at 7:42 AM