Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Babies Babies

SAHM question

Posted by on Aug. 23, 2013 at 10:48 AM
  • 87 Replies
2 moms liked this

I want to work. All my mom friend's work. I have a master's degree and am very driven as far as achievement. But the thing is, I just can't leave my 19 month old in another's care 10 hours a day. He needs me. Also my husband works shift work so I'd never see him.

Do any other stay at home moms feel like this? Like they want to work, but because they want to give their child the best care possible, they know they can't? What do you do with that feeling? I read the http://daycaresdontcare.org/ about a year ago and that was encouraging.

PS I also have no family in the area so that makes it even harder.

by on Aug. 23, 2013 at 10:48 AM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
MixedCooke
by Gold Member on Aug. 23, 2013 at 10:51 AM
1 mom liked this

BUMP!

JadeTigr7
by Silver Member on Aug. 23, 2013 at 10:52 AM
3 moms liked this

Nope, sorry.  I find staying home with my kids very fulfilling.

Hope you can figure something out. 

MixedCooke
by Gold Member on Aug. 23, 2013 at 10:52 AM
I chose to work the shift work so hubby could be with the kids at night.
sahmw2010
by Bronze Member on Aug. 23, 2013 at 10:55 AM
1 mom liked this

I have never been the mom that felt that the best care possible only came from me. yes I was picky on looking for a daycare/sitter, but I had no problem leaving my child once I found someone I was comfortable with. I wish I could work right now. we decided it was best to stay home because the price of daycare would take my whole check and leave me with nothing still, So I am staying home and furthering my education. I will try again when we PCS

Brycensmommy85
by on Aug. 23, 2013 at 10:58 AM
3 moms liked this