Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

almost 5 month old baby girl- feeding solids

Posted by on Nov. 9, 2013 at 1:16 PM
  • 110 Replies
Hi everyone!! My name is holly, I'm new to cafe mom and just wanted a little advice. I'm 26 years old, and this is my first baby. She is almost 5 months old. I've been feeding her solids for about a month now. But the way I've been doing it is mixing her food with cereal and milk and she takes a bottle right after. I'm just wondering when I should stop the mixing and give her the food plain.
by on Nov. 9, 2013 at 1:16 PM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
Randi02
by Platinum Member on Nov. 9, 2013 at 1:57 PM
7 moms liked this

For the first year, ALWAYS breastfeed or offer a bottle first.

Solid foods are not recommended before 6 months, but a lot of people rush their babies and start them early. I have no advice, lol. I have 4 babies who were breastfed and didn't start solids until 7-10 months. We never did cereals or baby food.

I just wanted to let you know she should be breastfeeding or getting a bottle BEFORE you offer solids, especially at 4 months old!!

Ninjabubble
by Bronze Member on Nov. 9, 2013 at 1:58 PM
Solids aren't reccomended until atleast 6 months old. Always offer bottle or breast first. Skip cereal all together, doesn't offer any nutrition.
Posted on CafeMom Mobile
momto3infl
by on Nov. 9, 2013 at 2:05 PM

Well my kids are now much older than babies-but what I did per recommendation from the dr was cereal first month then soft table food something new once a week from that point on.  I was told that could give bottle first or after depending on how the child wanted.

carsonsmommytam
by Tammara on Nov. 9, 2013 at 2:22 PM
You don't have to mix it at all.
YzmaRocks
by Platinum Member on Nov. 9, 2013 at 2:48 PM