Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Babies Babies

almost 5 month old baby girl- feeding solids

Posted by   + Show Post
Hi everyone!! My name is holly, I'm new to cafe mom and just wanted a little advice. I'm 26 years old, and this is my first baby. She is almost 5 months old. I've been feeding her solids for about a month now. But the way I've been doing it is mixing her food with cereal and milk and she takes a bottle right after. I'm just wondering when I should stop the mixing and give her the food plain.
by on Nov. 9, 2013 at 1:16 PM
Replies (101-110):
mama-smurf
by Silver Member on Nov. 12, 2013 at 6:50 AM
Wait untik 6 months, can sit up unassisted, has pincer grasp and loat tongue thrust reflex before introducing solids. My daughter kept throwiing up and bring very fussy when i even offered at 5 months 2 weeks so i immediately stopped. She's 9 months old and rarely gets fokd because she doesn't have that much interest. Babies cannot process grains before 1. I gave my other 2 kids foods before early. I didn't see difference then but now as they Get olderi I do. They both have tummy problem.
hcfdkn13
by on Nov. 12, 2013 at 10:34 AM
1 mom liked this
Thank you for this. I found some food at the grocery store that's got the fruit and oatmeal already mixed so I started feeding her that for breakfast. I also got the sweet potatoes and corn mixed and a few other veggies that are mixed. She doesn't quite like that too much but we are working on it. Her doctor told me at her 4 month checkup that I could start feeding solids as long as she was still getting the right amount of milk everyday. So I haven't replied to a lot of the debates on here Bc I know I'm doing what's right for my child. Just wasn't sure when and how I could start feeding straight baby food without mixing cereal with it.

Quoting rwebb11: