Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Babies Babies

bfing to bottle

Posted by on Nov. 18, 2013 at 12:34 AM
  • 9 Replies
I've been bfing for 2 1/2 months and the other day I tried giving my son a bottle but he wouldn't take it. I tried again later that day but he wouldn't take it. I don't know what to do.. I have to go back to work after the 26th. I know I'm going to have to give him the bottle from now on so he can learn to get used to it but I don't want to stop bfing. Should I bottle feed every other feeding or only during the day or at night? Help please. Fyi I'm not going to formula feed.. Im still going to give him breastmilk. Oh.. I dont have extra breastmilk storage bags and I can't afford any right now.. what can I use? I read to use zip lock bags but elsewhere I read to not use them. This is my first time bfing so I'm still learning.
by on Nov. 18, 2013 at 12:34 AM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-9):
Candie1015
by on Nov. 18, 2013 at 12:38 AM
Tey a different nipple... sometimes that helps. You can speak to bf consultants that might jave better ideas through WIC as well as getting storage bags and a free pump. Since your going back to work thwy will give you a mechanical pump. Seriously talking to one of the bf consultants will help
JadeTigr7
by Silver Member on Nov. 18, 2013 at 12:58 AM

You should never be the one offering a bottle, that's what the issue is.  Baby knows you have the good stuff.  You don't need to give a bottle to "prepare" baby either.  Just leave 1-1.25 ounces per hour of seperation and a slow flow nipple bottle, with instructions on how to bottle feed the breastfed baby and go.

KylersMom8-16-7
by Gold Member on Nov. 18, 2013 at 1:01 AM
He won't take it from you because you have the boobs;-) Why take a bottle when the taps right there?