Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Babies Babies

Refusing to nurse

Posted by on Mar. 12, 2014 at 2:10 PM
  • 10 Replies
Little boy turned 3 months this past Saturday. Since he was 4 days old, we've breastfed and formula fed. He's had no issues going back and forth (I use a nipple shield as mine are too flat).

On Monday he got a bit of a cold, some vouching but mostly sneezing and congestion. He had nursed in the morning (I'm a SAHM so we nurse unless we're out in public or he's eating too much and I'm too tired), but that afternoon he flat out REFUSED either breast. There was nothing else he could have wanted, and he screamed at me for 5-10 minutes until I made him a bottle. He downed it and passed out.

Yesterday he was fine nursing all day, but napped a lot (he was just out of sorts. Still kind of sneezy but better). Last night, again he refused me and downed a bottle.

Today, he nursed at 8, was hungry again at 11 and refused me. I have him a bottle and he napped for an hour. He woke up screaming, dry diaper etc. I got him to calm down, and he got hungry-fussy again around 1:30, and again refused me. He ate 2 oz formula (he eats 4 oz at a time, with the occasional 2 oz to top him off if he's still hungry, usually before bed).