Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

braxton hicks tightness in belly (its my first time so idk) Any help plz

Posted by on Jun. 3, 2010 at 9:57 PM
  • 5 Replies

This is my first im 36 weeks im not sure what is going on here. I worked this morning and I was fine at work. I left work about 330 and I had a flat I sat in my car at the gas station waiting for DH for about 30 mins. It was hot and I didnt have a lot of water with me so I may have got a little dehydrated. I went to see about getting the tire fixed and got a little stressed (cost ect). I came home and when I got out the car my belly got really tight (up to this point I have only felt this tightness by touching my belly with my hand and noticing it was hard not tight) I have never felt it get tight only hard. Well I climbed the stairs and it was not hurting like a pain but it was uncomfortable. I got 2 bottle of water and I drank them and laid with my feel up I felt her moving and kicking and the tightness went away. I stood up to go to the bathroom and it got really tight again. So I laid again and it felt better. I got up to go shower and it got tight again.

So my question is: Is this Braxton Hicks Contraction or what???? Im not havin anything other then this tightness Im not spotting cramping anything like that and the tightness is not comming in like a pattern it gets tight when i stand stays tight the whole time Im up and about 2 or 3 mins after I sit or lay it stops. Should I be worried??? Should I go to early labor??? Do I just need to rest and drink water ???

by on Jun. 3, 2010 at 9:57 PM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-5):
palemoon21
by on Jun. 3, 2010 at 10:00 PM

Yep it's BH contractions. It's fine and it's normal. Braxton Hicks are practice contractions to get your uterus ready for actual labor. It's kind of like training for a marathon....