Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Pregnancy Pregnancy

abscessed tooth while pregnant ... ?

Posted by on Apr. 18, 2011 at 11:21 PM
  • 8 Replies

I have an abscess and Im wondering if any of you know how this could affect pregnancy, or my baby im 28 weeks and have had this for a while but didnt have time to get it fixed before I got pregnant it is just now starting to act up again causing migranes, and my face is a little bit swollen. It this dangerous to my baby ?

by on Apr. 18, 2011 at 11:21 PM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-8):
kmencl3210
by Bronze Member on Apr. 18, 2011 at 11:22 PM

last wk my doc mentioned something about dental problems making you more likely to go into premature labor... i think she told me i was 7x's more likely to go into premature labor with dental problems 

blessed_mom774
by on Apr. 18, 2011 at 11:23 PM
I had 1 n my ob fussed saying it could get intp babies blood stream (not sure IF its true or not) but id suggest having it taken care of ASAP
Posted on CafeMom Mobile
C8Baxter
by on Apr. 18, 2011 at 11:24 PM
I just had two cavities filled and I'm 39 wks pregnant. You can get dental work done. Talk with your ob about it.
Posted on CafeMom Mobile
JADIEBUG
by on Apr. 18, 2011 at 11:25 PM

Very true. It is highly dangerous to a fetus. Infections in the mother can cause infections in the fetus. You need to get that fixed ASAP....You need a round of antibiotics and the tooth treated pronto.

Quoting blessed_mom774:

I had 1 n my ob fussed saying it could get intp babies blood stream (not sure IF its true or not) but id suggest having it taken care of ASAP

mommyof0210
by on Apr. 18, 2011 at 11:55 PM

i dont have a doc yet i just moved should i go to the hospital ? my face hurts and i have a bad headache amd my forehead is numb

blessed_mom774
by on Apr. 19, 2011 at 12:00 AM