Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Pregnancy Pregnancy

Stupid Question but Here It Goes

How do I make my child's first appointment with the pediatrician? For some reason, I have been thinking about how to go about getting Atreyu's appointment and doc in line, although he isnt due till May. I have Alabama Patient 1st insurance, and my case worker isnt being any help! When do I need to start finding out who has openings? Will I need to let them know when he is born? What do I need to bring with me for those first appointments? What kind of paperwork will I need to fill out?

I have never done this before- Atreyu is my first child. I am so confused and I wish I lived in another county so I can have a more helpful case worker!

26 weeks may be too early, but I am ready to get all my ducks in a row and do what I can while I still have the willpower and energy to do it.

CafeMom Tickers
by on Feb. 6, 2013 at 10:50 AM
Replies (21-24):
EcoModernMom
by on Feb. 7, 2013 at 9:31 AM

look around and decide who to go with. there is usually a spot on your paperwork sayng who your ped will be. for me, the ped i choose came and saw my dd at the hospital when she was born, i met her there and then we saw her again for the first official appointment.

muchlovedby4
by on Feb. 8, 2013 at 9:46 AM
I had to make up my own shot plan. We have a history of allergic reactions to vaccinations in my family.

So i spoke to my new LO's pedi and he will only be getting one shot per visit. This means getting one shot per month for 4 months in some cases, but id rather do it that way than have him react aniphilactically (sp?) and not know which he's reacting to. That's just an example of an amended shot plan.

Quoting heartagram_girl:

I didnt know docs did 'meet n greet'; and some of their secretaries are so freaking rude over the telephone! What is an alternative shot plan?

Quoting lillucky8: