Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Pregnancy Pregnancy

Non-paid maternity leave!

Posted by on May. 16, 2013 at 9:46 PM
  • 76 Replies
1 mom liked this
I work at a dog daycare, I will have been there 16 months when the baby is born but I started the day it opened so it is a very new business. I am a manager and make salary but there's no benefits in place yet because they're still in the process of making a profit. I will not be getting any paid maternity leave. My question is, how do you guys prepare to not get paid for 2 months?
by on May. 16, 2013 at 9:46 PM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
bebe_ju-rah
by on May. 16, 2013 at 9:50 PM
I took a non paid leave of 6 weeks. We saved for months prior and stashed it all in our savings account. Aside from medical bills we're still ahead.
brittany208
by on May. 16, 2013 at 9:54 PM

this is after the fact for you.... but...

when DH and I first got married, we set up our budget based on his income alone, so his paycheck covers all of our monthly bills with room to spare. That way I would always have the option of working if I wanted to or staying home if I didnt. As it is, I work very part time on and off, and my paycheck always only goes for straight towards whatever big thing we are saving up for--our first house, a newer car, paying down debt... so i never *have* to pay the bills, just to help further us along in life.

marissabrookee
by Silver Member on May. 16, 2013 at 10:57 PM
yeah I wish just his salary could support us and I guess it could but money would be very tight. we have a lot of cushion with my salary added on and my child support from my daughters father.

Quoting brittany208:

this is after the fact for you.... but...