Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Nervous about pushy doctors

Posted by on Jul. 15, 2013 at 2:05 PM
  • 20 Replies

I'm new to my town. We moved at 20 weeks across the country. So we relied pretty heavily on my husband's co workers and their wives experiences with OBGYN's here. Most of them told me the same place. So we read up on them and seemed likea  pretty great place.

I do like the facility and the hospital where I'll deliver. However my practice does a rotation of doctors for my appointments. They want you to have each doctor so whichever one is on call when you deliver... you'll know them. Problem... I started at 20 weeks. SO i'll see MY doctor once by the time i'm through the rotation. (this didn't occur to me at the first appt). I've had two "scares" and got sent to the women's hospital and had the same doctor both times (she's from my practice) and she was HORRIBLE. Very "too good" for your time, asked me at the very begininng if I had any questions. Of course I had none, because they didn't even know what was going on. When it was all fine... they discharged me and I never saw the doctor again to ask my questions. 

I asked a "friend" what her experience was there and she said she actually switched halfway through to a family doctor because se felt that way too. She said they're very pushy on "you have until this time, then we're doing a c section" those kind of things. I absolutely flat out refuse to be induced with drugs or have a c section unless seriously medically necessary. I'm a FTM, so this is freaking me out to hear these thigns. Anyone have any advice??

by on Jul. 15, 2013 at 2:05 PM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
gumeshoe
by on Jul. 15, 2013 at 2:36 PM