Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Pregnancy Pregnancy

I really don't know anything about babies.

Posted by on Oct. 25, 2013 at 11:52 PM
  • 290 Replies
3 moms liked this

Now that I am almost out of my first trimester, I am becoming a little apprehensive about the fact that I know almost nothing about childbirth or newborns.  I considered taking one of the hospital classes, but since I'm a teacher, my evenings are already packed with grading papers.  And I ask my doctor or friends random questions when I think of them, but I still feel like I'm going to be totally unprepared.  Has anyone else felt this way?

Just going through message boards and stuff, I see people constantly referencing medical terms I've never heard, baby products I've never heard of, etc.  I will try to give you an exhaustive list of everything I actually know about, and I think you will understand that I don't know much!

Birthing process - I happened to find out that you have to pre-certify with insurance, so I did.  I know that when your water breaks, you go to the hospital.  I know what an epidural and an episiotomy are.  I know that babies are supposed to cry after they are born, and boys are often circumcized.  I know they want the baby to pee before you leave.  I know they wear hats home for some reason.  That's about all I know.