Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Do you think mothering comes naturally to a mom

Posted by on Oct. 26, 2013 at 2:34 AM
  • 18 Replies

I am about eight weeks along now in my pregnancy and I am feeling very uncertain. I am not so sure of my ability to care for a child. I have very little experience with babies. I did not even babysit that often.... At first I was excited about being pregnant but now I am just uncertain... Did being a good mother come natrually to you? Did you have help? Any advice would be apperciated...

by on Oct. 26, 2013 at 2:34 AM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
msalice_21
by on Oct. 26, 2013 at 2:44 AM
2 moms liked this
Ill tell you right now, I never even held a new baby or even a baby that was younger than 9 months before I had my own! Never changed a diaper, fed a baby... nothing! It really did come naturally.

Its still really embarrassing and im really shamed to say that when my oldest was born I wasnt attached. He was foreign to me. I didnt know what to do and wanted to cry because I didn't want him. It wasnt until we were wheeled into our recovery room and he started to cry in the plastic bin they put babies in, I freaked out and that mothering instinct jumped in. I all of a sudden needed my son! I HAD to comfort him and for some crazy reason I knew how!! I cant explain it but being a mother just happened and it happened without even knowing how.
wolfybaby
by on Oct. 26, 2013 at 2:48 AM

biologically speaking, its supposed to. 

Autumn19
by Ruby Member on Oct. 26, 2013 at 7:59 AM
It came natural for me
kram0410
by Member on Oct. 26, 2013 at 8:28 AM
1 mom liked this

Sweetie just give it time and yes it will be like second nature to you.  Keep updates up on you okay

JessiFaye
by Silver Member on Oct. 26, 2013 at 8:33 AM
1 mom liked this