Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Pregnancy Pregnancy

I get it....my family is mad at me. (vent...long sorry)

Posted by on Nov. 18, 2013 at 10:10 AM
  • 10 Replies

Here's a little background. I was unmarried (but engaged) at 21 when I had my son. I was also unemployed and living at home. My family was supportive and very helpful. Everyone loves my son and would do anything for him or to help me at the time. Fast forward 9 1/2 years. I am 30. I'm seperated from my son's father (and have been for 4 1/2 years) I have been working at the same company for almost 7 years. Because of hour cuts a few years ago I had to move back home, and when my mom quit working I had to take on some of her bills. But even though I COMPLETELY support myself and my son my family is BEYOND disappointed and mad at me for being pregnant. My mom tells me almost on a daily basis how disappointed she is. I had breakfast with my aunt yesterday and all we talked about is how disappointed and upset she is at me. My uncle is so mad at me that he refuses to attend any family gatherings if I am there. My mom is evicting me. She REFUSES to watch the baby when it's born so I dont have to pay daycare but she is happy to watch my son for me. She watches him afterschool, on holidays and during the summer. She said it's inconvient to watch a baby if she has to go anywhere. But what I don't understand is how my family can be supportive and hapy for me being pregnant at 21 living at home with no job and can not even support myself but then be so angry at me when I'm pregnant at 30 and completely support myself and my son. The only thing I can figure is the simple fact I'm not married ar at least engaged. I makes no sense to me and it hurts knowing I have no support from my family. Im tired of being told how disappointed everyone is that I'm in this "situation." This "situation" in my opinion is a blessing. I am beyond happy to finally b