Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Is a home birth legal?

Posted by on Mar. 30, 2014 at 3:14 PM
  • 15 Replies

This will be baby # 6 for me and i have experienced every kind of birth there is ( No C-Sections) . I hate being trapped in a hospital for 3 days and I was wondering if any of you know how safe it is to have an un-assisted birth at home. Has anyone done this? My labor usually goes really fast and baby is out with no issues. please let me know if its even legal, do you have to call 911 after or just your midwife? home birthing centers are way too expensive as well. I would love some opinions and advice :) None of my births were complicated either

by on Mar. 30, 2014 at 3:14 PM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
samsanders
by on Mar. 30, 2014 at 3:17 PM
Why were you in the hospital so long with no complications and a quick birth?

I have no experience with home births but I'm pretty sure they're legal.
Heather2001
by on Mar. 30, 2014 at 3:18 PM
2 moms liked this

They are not illegal, no.  Otherwise, any accidental birth would send mom to jail and that would be just silly.  You don't have to call anyone if you and baby are healthy.  I will say that unassisted birth isn't something you just jump into lightly.  There is a lot of research involved including how to recognize and handle emergency situations.  Good luck with whatever decision you make!  =)

kcangel63
by Freebirther on Mar. 30, 2014 at 3:26 PM
I'm having my 6th home birth and 4th unassisted birth.

It is legal. However, as someone who has had many, I would suggest you make sure you are studied and educated on all the what ifs of birth.

There is no need for 911 unless there's an emergency. If you have a midwife, you can call her and have her on standby, or ask her to stay in another room unless you need her. Many will do that.
Pandapanda
by Amber on Mar. 30, 2014 at 3:44 PM