Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Okay! So I'm scared! :(

Posted by on Jul. 23, 2014 at 11:41 AM
  • 48 Replies

Yep... I'll admit it. I'm 31 weeks pregnant and I am SO nervous to have this baby!

I'm going to try to have him naturally but I'm afraid that I wont be strong enough to do it. I'm also afraid that if I do take "drugs" for the pain that I'll look like less of a woman in my dh's eyes. He's already said that the "drugs" are a cop out and that it takes away from the full effect...

(That was not directed at me btw... just general conversation and this was his opinion on epidurals)

Okay... well what if I don't want the damn full effect?! Is that going to make me less of a mother to him?  I'm not good with pain at all! I'm trying so hard to be strong and not show that I'm actually afraid. . . But the more the weeks rack up, the more anxious and uneasy I become.. What if we don't make it to the hospital in time? What if I go into labor early?

I have a daughter but she was born almost 8 years ago. I had an epidural with her and there was only pressure... no real "pain" aside from the contractions that made me decide to get the epidural in the first place.

Ugh... I don't know.. I just feel crappy right now and I can't call anyone to talk to them so I resort to this site and people whom I don't even know. I guess I just needed to vent for a minute.

bummed_out

by on Jul. 23, 2014 at 11:41 AM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
mommyflaw
by on Jul. 23, 2014 at 11:48 AM

I wanted natural and I would just ride every contraction out by swearing I was getting an epi and then once it eased saying 'Alright, that wasn't so bad and I can do another one' until it was too late to get one.

rmgriffberg
by on Jul. 23, 2014 at 11:49 AM
1 mom liked this