Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

can I get fired for being pregnant ?

Posted by on Jul. 23, 2014 at 8:42 PM
  • 10 Replies
I have been working in an ice cream shop for almost 6 months I just found out that I'm 6 weeks pregnant can they fire me for that one girl got pregnant and they told her to stop working is that legal?
by on Jul. 23, 2014 at 8:42 PM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
lovleopards
by Elyssia on Jul. 23, 2014 at 8:44 PM
No it's not legal, but they could find other reasons to fire you
Avetay
by Gold Member on Jul. 23, 2014 at 8:46 PM
Its not legal but they can find another reason to fire you.
Gotta love "right to work" states
Serabeth06
by Bronze Member on Jul. 23, 2014 at 8:47 PM

Legally, no. Pregnancy is protected by federal law from employment discrimination. However, if you live in an at-will work state, they can fire you without giving any reason whatsoever, or they can find another reason to put on the slip if they fire you. Unless someone actually says they're firing you for pregnancy, there's very little you can do to stop them.

mommy2bfort
by on Jul. 23, 2014 at 9:02 PM
I haven't told no one from work that I'm pregnant yet I want to work till 5 months unless doctor tells me to stop sooner its not that hard just serving and cleaning changing the ice cream is since its heavy we will see I don't want to put my baby at risk for a stupid job
krusesbaby
by Silver Member on Jul. 23, 2014 at 10:06 PM
I usually dont tell an employer until 6 weeks. But iv never been fired for it. I worked up until literally the day before labor with my first two. I was a sahm with my third.

If its an at will state they can fire you for anything and not tell you. Like a pp said. Unless they state it os pregnancy then there isnt much you can do.
krusesbaby
by Silver Member on Jul. 23, 2014 at 10:07 PM