Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Removed IUD......How Long.....

Posted by on Aug. 12, 2009 at 1:24 PM
  • 9 Replies

I have a two-part question.  I had my Mirena (IUD) placed post-pregnancy with my son;  it's been almost 2 years.  My hubby and I decided to start TTC for #3, so I  just had it removed last Monday.  I had no issues (ie: bleeding, spotting, no periods, cramping, etc) after having it placed or removed.  I was just wondering how long it took to have your period return after an almost 3 year hiatus, and also how long it took to conceive.  On a side note: I just turned 28, and this was my first time ever being on BC, so I have no experience to recall on.  Thanks!!

by on Aug. 12, 2009 at 1:24 PM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-9):
BaBiiMaMa89
by on Aug. 12, 2009 at 1:27 PM

bumpgood question. i never had an iud but was thinking about getting one after this baby cuz they can do it right after my csection, but how did it work for u? any pain? after a csec i dont want any added pain =/ lol

Lilypie - Personal pictureLilypie

danielsmommy2b
by on Aug. 12, 2009 at 1:28 PM

I had my IUD (Mirena) removed July 14th of this year. I was due for AF August 7th, but it came August 10th. Our first month TTC was a bust... We're TTC # 3 as well. Good luck and I send you lots of baby dust! 

luvmyangels2
by on Aug. 12, 2009 at 1:32 PM

I think it should come back rather quickly.  I don't think the IUD keeps you from ovulating, it just irritates the lining of your uterus so a zygote can not implant. 

milfof2cuties
by on Aug. 12, 2009 at 1:44 PM