• In the Spotlight:
Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

temper tantrums

Posted by on Feb. 8, 2012 at 5:11 PM
  • 3 Replies

My son has been enrolled in daycare since November . The place is great , but my son is a hitter and has been shrieking whenever he doesn't get his way.  I've read 1-2-3 magic; the counting doesn't work. I've used redirection, I've used time outs. Nothing seems to affect his behavior. Daily I'm receiving reports from the staff and director. I know other children hit at this age, but it seems that my son's behavior is constant, (according to the staff) and the staff is losing patience. HELP! I am a teacher,I have tons of teaching strategies, but i can't seem to teach my son that it is wrong to hit.

by on Feb. 8, 2012 at 5:11 PM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-3):
TexasKaty
by on Feb. 8, 2012 at 5:23 PM
Oh no! I'm sorry! Something is reinforcing his bad behavior... Could it be the attention he gets when he hits?
Posted on CafeMom Mobile
Karen_S
by on Feb. 8, 2012 at 5:26 PM

So, first off, if I were you I would ask for a meeting with his teacher.  Find out exactly what he's doing and when.  Are there any triggers or patterns?  Does he hit lots of kids, or just one or two that he doesn't get along well with (in which case you can ask the teacher to encourage them not to play together a lot). Does it happen on the playground/outside, or inside, or both?  It is at a particular time of day (maybe later on when he's tired?)?  Depending what's going on, you might figure out better ways to avoid the problem (i.e. if he hits more later in the day because he's cranky and overstimulated, you can ask his teacher to have him have some quiet time or a little rest mid-afternoon.)