Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

18month old not walking without support

Posted by on Sep. 17, 2012 at 4:16 PM
  • 20 Replies
My 18 month old still not walking without support...walks holding my fingers but as soon as I let go he it's down... My Ped said he is scared to let go so keep pushing him to walk without help..but it's been tough
Should I be worried

Please help
by on Sep. 17, 2012 at 4:16 PM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
Luvmy2babies22
by Platinum Member on Sep. 17, 2012 at 4:56 PM
1 mom liked this

I am no expert  but most kids are walking by that age.  If your pedi isn't worried then give him another month or so but I would keep pushing him.  Have him walk a tiny distance between you and your hubby to help him gain confidence and then gradually get farther apart.  If he's not improving in a month you may look for a recommendation for physical therapy.

TTC2Long
by Bronze Member on Sep. 17, 2012 at 4:57 PM
Agreed. Better to have him evaluated and get early intervention if he needs it sooner than later. Could just be a late bloomer, but it won't hurt to check!

Quoting Luvmy2babies22:

I am no expert  but most kids are walking by that age.  If your pedi isn't worried then give him another month or so but I would keep pushing him.  Have him walk a tiny distance between you and your hubby to help him gain confidence and then gradually get farther apart.  If he's not improving in a month you may look for a recommendation for physical therapy.

Posted on CafeMom Mobile
Gweneveer
by on Sep. 17, 2012 at 4:58 PM

My second dd didnt walk until 17.5 months.  I would give it a little longer....is he cruising along furniture?  Can he support his own weight, and does he take steps holding on?

mrsniebo
by Bronze Member on Sep. 17, 2012 at 5:02 PM