Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Toddlers & Preschoolers Toddlers & Preschoolers

3 year old behavior

Posted by on Dec. 4, 2012 at 11:31 AM
  • 14 Replies
Hi I'm new to this..I'm a mommy to two beautiful little girls. Cadence is 3 and Kailynn is almost 2. Lately me and my fiance have been noticing a change in Cadence's behavior. She doesn't listen to anything we say and tells us to "shut our faces" anong other things. She is also mean to her little sister. We've tried everything to stop this acting out. She also does it to other people and whines to get her way (we don't give into that but my mother does) Cadence acts like she is the boss of the house and tries to tell everyone what to do. She recently started kicking her door when she's mad and pulling her shirt up and saying "look at my boobies" that also occurs when she is mad. I don't know what to do or where she is coming up with this stuff. Everyone says I need to get a behavior coach but I don't know! Any advice would be appreciated!!
Thanks, Megan
Posted on the NEW CafeMom Mobile
by on Dec. 4, 2012 at 11:31 AM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
funhappymom
by Member on Dec. 5, 2012 at 8:43 AM

Hi Megan-

It sounds like she is going through some normal acting out, looking for boundry kind of behavior. Be sure to set boundries for her and keep to it. If your mom is causing problems, I would limit the amount of time she spends with her for now. It's important at this age that good boundries are set and maintained. Good luck.

hugs

Paradys
by on Dec. 5, 2012 at 9:04 AM
I have a 3 yr old DD and am goin thru some of the same stuff. I recently discovered a great book called "1, 2, 3 Magic" it's a great discipline and training book that removes all the yelling and arguing (if you follow it correctly).
It has really done wonders for us.
Posted on CafeMom Mobile
KayLundy3