Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

So i didnt really know where else/who else to vent to about this as i am new to cafe mom and so far have enjoyed this group more then any others.

I have just spent my entire night consoling a friend whos husband (currently a deployed navymen) just called her to tell her not only does he want a divorse after 5 years and two kids later, but that he has been having an affair and is expecting a child with his new chick.

Have any of you had to recover from an affair?

What kind of advice should i give her?

im so torn about the matter because i myself have had to deal with my husband cheating on me, but we were able to work through it. I feel like by not encouraging her to try and fix her marriage i am being a hypocrite but i feel that this situation is severe enough that it may be beyond repair so i dont want to push for her to try and fix it and give her a false sense of hope...

by on Jan. 18, 2013 at 3:01 AM
Replies (11-16):
villagemamma
by on Jan. 18, 2013 at 8:22 PM

Thanks ladies. I shared your advice with her. hopefully i can get her to do something to make sure that shes taken care of when all is said and done

Its difficuly because she wasnt expecting it so shes still pretty shell shocked about the whole thing i am concerned it may hinder her moving forward with the things that she has to do to assure that shes taken care of. Her kids are only 2 and 3. SInce their dad is active military they are used to not seeing him so i dont think it will be a very big transition for them.

BramblePatch
by on Jan. 18, 2013 at 11:34 PM