Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Toddlers & Preschoolers Toddlers & Preschoolers

I don't get why preschool dont allow them.

Posted by on Feb. 25, 2013 at 6:47 PM
  • 68 Replies

Diapers. I am a daycare teacher myslef and I have almost all the kids in my class wearing diapers full time. Now I get daycare kids are usualy younger, but I have four preschool aged kids who are forced to remain in daycare becuase they are behind on pottytraining. Insight?

by on Feb. 25, 2013 at 6:47 PM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
bloomsr
by Member on Feb. 25, 2013 at 6:55 PM
2 moms liked this
Preschool focuses more on cooperative play and education. Changing 10-15 diapers a day (one diaper per child) would seriously hinder that. I have to think that if a parent discussed the diaper issue w the preschool the facility may be willing to accept an untrained child.
cheriem86
by on Feb. 25, 2013 at 7:04 PM
2 moms liked this
There are actually state health regulations which have to be maintained for diaper changing. Most preschools simply do not have the resources or facilities needed to keep up with these standards.
Posted on the NEW CafeMom Mobile
CometGirl
by on Feb. 25, 2013 at 7:07 PM
1 mom liked this
Our preschool has 64 state standards that each child has to meet to be allowed to enter kindergarten. There is not enough time in the school year to teach these standards AND change 15 diapers/day too.
HopesNDreams
by Member on Feb. 25, 2013 at 7:10 PM
Preschool programs are regulated by the Department of Education. Daycare is regulated by the Department of Welfare. There are different standards, student to teacher ratios, and expectations.
Luvmy2babies22
by Platinum Member on Feb. 25, 2013 at 8:01 PM

I'm pretty sure it has to do with health codes. 

corrinacs
by on Feb. 25, 2013 at 8:04 PM
1 mom liked this