Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Toddlers & Preschoolers Toddlers & Preschoolers

Chicken pox AND hand-foot-mouth disease?

Posted by on Mar. 5, 2013 at 11:26 AM
  • 10 Replies

Hi my name is Rebekah and I'm new here. I have a 4.5 year old in preschool and an 8 months old at home with me, both daughters.

Here's my problem. Oldest DD has been indirectly exposed to chicken pox and directly exposed to hand foot and mouth disease in the last 7 days. I know chicken pox has a 14 day incubation period, but I have no experience with H/F/M disease. 

Would it be possible for her to have BOTH of these at once? What is the incubation period for H/F/M disease and what will be the first symptoms? Since she was directly in contact with the child I'm more worried about that.

Are either of the dangerous to my 8 month old?

Can some one clue me in to the symptoms/treatments/dangers of having one or both of these in any child?

by on Mar. 5, 2013 at 11:26 AM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
hopeym23
by Member on Mar. 5, 2013 at 11:27 AM

No idea...here is a bump.  I'd google it.  Good luck!

Are you on the Weight Watchers program? This is a group for support through your weight loss journey. No judging or drama here!
http://www.cafemom.com/group/118404

mrsniebo
by Bronze Member on Mar. 5, 2013 at 11:57 AM

DD caught H/F/M when she was just under 2. It showed symptoms within a day or two. She had a mild case that consisted of vomitting once, a slight fever for about a day, a few spots around her legs (mostly on her knees), and a couple of spots on her face. DH caught a worse case of H/F/M from DD by sharing a drink with her, went to the doctor, and was told there wasn't anything to do for it other than let it run its course. (Aloe gel used for sunburns helped with some of the discomfort.)