Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Grief counseling for a pre-schooler?

Posted by on Mar. 8, 2013 at 3:28 PM
  • 11 Replies

When I was 18 and a senior in high school I got pregnant. It was shocker but a big life changer. I was 3.5 months pregnant when I graduated high school and ready to be a mommy. A month later when going in for my ultra sound to find the gender I was told my sweet little angel had died. Ultrasound showed her spine had separated from the rest of her body and grown outside, she would never have lived had I carried her to term. I was devestated. Six months later I became pregnant again and had a healthy(ish) pregnancy. She's now 4.5 years old and I have told her about her sister (we found out the sex through genetic testing to determin why I had miscarried) since she was old enough to understand. We have her sister's (EmaLee) baby book and she's allowed to look at the ultrasounds and ask questions whenever she wants. But lately she has not been handling it very well.

Today after school while on the way to our weekly playdate, she burst into tears crying about missing her sister and why couldn't she come home and see her. I've explained to her that she is in Heaven waiting for us and we'll see her when we die and go to Heaven. That was a comfort to her, but now she doesn't grasp the concept that she can't come home with us and why her sister had gone to Heaven. 

If this were your child would you think counseling would help with something like this? She, of course, never met her big sister but says she misses her greatly and cries for lengths of time when she gets upset by seeing other kids with big brothers and sisters.

by on Mar. 8, 2013 at 3:28 PM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
sahmw2010
by on Mar. 8, 2013 at 3:32 PM
2 moms liked this