Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Advice Needed: 2.5yr old son at risk for autism

Posted by on Mar. 22, 2013 at 1:52 PM
  • 18 Replies

i have a 2.5yr old that is constantly being evaluated for autism. he's been marked for being at risk for autism because he's not communicating much. he will say every word on nick jr but his words are limited when it comes to expressive communication. he does not have a problem with behavior.he's very smart,self taught with a lot of things like being able to count to 50 and identifying basic shapes and shapes like trapezoid. he can also identify the alphabet. he knows how to trace and write numbers and letters. i dont have anybody around that can relate to my situation. i joined to see if anyone had advice.

by on Mar. 22, 2013 at 1:52 PM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
Newfie_Mom
by on Mar. 22, 2013 at 2:02 PM
1 mom liked this
They evaluated my son as well but immediately dismissed the possibility. My son just doesn't talk because he doesn't want to. He doesn't do the normal kid rambling.

I know little to nothing about autism but I can tell you my son is 3 and can't do a good number of the things on the list of things you said your 2.5 can.

There is an autism group maybe they would have more accurate information for you.
Posted on the NEW CafeMom Mobile
PEEK05
by on Mar. 22, 2013 at 2:04 PM

Sorry, my kids have never been evaluated for autism but here is a bump.

DACIA79
by Bronze Member on Mar. 22, 2013 at 2:11 PM
My son has a speech delay he is very visual so he learned all of his basics like letters shapes etc.. Very quickly he could speak but he didn't communicate with others and he is sensory sensitive and he has a pdd-nos diagnosis.
TigerofMu
by on Mar. 22, 2013 at 2:39 PM