Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Toddlers & Preschoolers Toddlers & Preschoolers

Toughest Decision

Posted by on Apr. 5, 2013 at 8:19 PM
  • 30 Replies

Today I made a very tough, personal choice. 

Backstory: I am a Prek teacher, which I love, but was just tired of the job in general. I was underpaid, underappreciated, and just downright tired of the bullcrap sometimes. I loved the kids, loved what I was doing, but with budget cuts and not enough money to supply my classroom with anything I was going out of pocket not to mention the daycare costs for my 2 little ones was SKY HIGH! 

My husband and I made the decision that I was going to stay home with my kiddos. Turns out they laid me off the week before I was going to turn in my notice (I was going to work through the rest of the year). I had told ONE close friend of mine who worked there I was going to resign at the end of the year and she went and told them (she wanted my position which she got!) Anyway they said they needed someone who was a "team player" and had their whole heart in it which they believed I did not (not true I still miss my Prekindergarteners everyday!)

I have been at home for a little over 3 months now, and where as I love every second of being home with my little ones I have the urge to go back to work. I since have filled out 10 applications and have an interview for one place Monday and another place had an on the spot interview and she wants to set up an official one.