Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

SAHM how are you prepping child for kindergarten?

Posted by on Feb. 5, 2014 at 1:11 AM
  • 28 Replies

Hello just wondering I am having a hard time getting my son to concentrate and learn with me at home so I was wondering how others are prepping their LO because Im at a loss. He wants to learn and I want to help I used to be an enrichment teacher but I cant even reach out to my own son! Videos, worksheets, talking, songs and games still dont seem to catching on and I really want him ready whatever that is!

by on Feb. 5, 2014 at 1:11 AM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
shadow_lark
by on Feb. 5, 2014 at 1:13 AM
Put him in pre school
mommyoftigermen
by on Feb. 5, 2014 at 1:22 AM

Cant afford it which is how I ended up being a SAHM lol

JasonsMom2007
by Silver Member on Feb. 5, 2014 at 1:28 AM
1 mom liked this

I homeschool but I'd contact the school district and ask them what he is expected to know then browse pintrest.  Try different styles of learning until you find what works for him.  And take it slow :)

I'd also get him involved in things like story time at the library, playgroups, church groups if you are religious, etc.  Anything where he is expected to sit and learn in a group.

I used to teach preschool and it was mostly about learning to sit and listen in a group, learning to be part of the class, things like that.  They can learn all of that stuff through other activities.  I mean we taught them some academics as well (letter sounds, numbers, counting, shapes, colors, name recognition, writing their name, etc.) but the focus was on learning to be part of the class.

KelliansMom
by Bronze Member on Feb. 5, 2014 at 9:39 AM
Pinterest has some great free work sheets and fun learning game ideas.
ArmyWifey2013
by on Feb. 5, 2014 at 9:58 AM